William Basinski Readies New Album 'Lamentations'

Hear "O, My Daughter, O, My Sorrow" from the composer's latest
William Basinski Readies New Album 'Lamentations'
William Basinski has returned with details of a new album. The American composer will deliver Lamentations on November 13 through Temporary Residence

The 12-track Lamentations brings together recordings Basinski constructed from tape loops and studies unearthed from his archives, the earliest of which date back to 1979. The songs are "are shaped by the inevitable passage of time and the indisputable collapsing of space."

Lamentations can be previewed with "O, My Daughter, O, My Sorrow" in the player below. The album will mark Basinski's second archival release of this year following the composer's Hymns of Oblivion in March.


1. For Whom the Bell Tolls
2. The Wheel of Fortune
3. Paradise Lost
4. Tear Vial
5. O, My Daughter, O, My Sorrow
6. Passio
7. Punch and Judy
8. Silent Spring
9. Transfiguration
10. All These Too, I, I Love
11. Please, This Shit Has Got to Stop
12. Fin

Pre-order Lamentations.