Oh Sees' John Dwyer Readies New Collaborative Album 'Endless Garbage'

Hear "No Flutter" and "Goose" from the upcoming record
Oh Sees' John Dwyer Readies New Collaborative Album 'Endless Garbage'
Oh Sees mastermind John Dwyer has returned with details of a new collaborative album. The eight-song Endless Garbage arrives March 19 through Castle Face.

Coming under the long and extremely self-explanatory moniker of John Dwyer, Ted Byrnes, Greg Coates, Tom Dolas and Brad Caulkins, Endless Garbage finds Dwyer leading a quintet that includes Ted Byrnes (drums), Greg Coates (upright bass), Tom Dolas (keyboards) and Brad Caulkins (Horns) — most of whom all played together for last year's Witch Egg.

The quintet formed after Dwyer heard Byrnes playing drums in his garage a few houses away. Byrnes would give Dwyer "a pile of truly spontaneous drums recordings from the carport to work with," who then let other musicians, none of whom had ever met or played together, "come in one at at time and just take a wild pass at their track over the drums."

"After I spent a bit of time mixing and editing this down to a palatable offering I couldn't help but think about human consumption," Dwyer said of the album's title. "Our limitless need for material possession, for emotional acknowledgment, for as much information to be thrown in our faces in our very short time here on this mortal coil.

"We are buried in information. We are constantly hungry and perhaps too smart for our own good.  We leave behind us a wake of destruction. Of course, there are moments of great beauty, ingenuity and compassion along the way. You just have to know where to look. Thus, Endless Garbage seemed a fitting title. A cacophonous and glorious sketch of ourselves."

Album tracks "No Flutter" and "Goose" can be heard below.

Last year, Dwyer also released an album with supergroup Bent Arcana.

Endless Garbage

1. Vertical Infinity
2. No Flutter
3. Goose
4. Four
5. Lucky You
6. Pro-Death
7. A Grotesque Display
8. No Goodbyes