Mdou Moctar Announces Matador Debut 'Afrique Victime'

Watch a video for the record's "Tala Tannam"
Mdou Moctar Announces Matador Debut 'Afrique Victime'
Tuareg guitarist Mdou Moctar's last album Ilhana (The Creator) was one of Exclaim!'s favourites of 2019, so we're absolutely thrilled to report that the artist is set to return with a new LP this spring.

The latest release from the guitarist is called Afrique Victime and includes nine new compositions. Among them is "Tala Tannam," which has arrived today via a new music video.

"While the song talks about love, we wanted to show the love between friendships and the love of Niger," the band's producer and bassist Mikey Coltun said. "The video includes friends and family — in the Tuareg community in villages around Niamey as well as Hausa people from villages in the Dosso region."

Watch a video for "Tala Tannam" below. 

Afrique Victime arrives on May 21 and marks Mdou Moctar's first album for Matador Records.

Afrique Victime:

1. Chismiten
2. Taliat
3. Ya Habibti
4. Tala Tannam
5. Untitled
6. Asdikte Akal
7. Layla
8. Afrique Victime
9. Bismilahi Atagah

Pre-order Afrique Victime.