David Byrne and Brian Eno Team Up to Soundtrack Oliver Stone's Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps

David Byrne and Brian Eno Team Up to Soundtrack Oliver Stone's <i>Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps</i>
Talking Heads hero David Byrne has been releasing albums for over 30 years, but he's still as prolific and unpredictable as ever. He previously teamed up with Fatboy Slim for Here Lies Love, a soundtrack to a musical about Imelda Marcos. Other recent projects include his collaboration with St. Vincent and his Paolo Sorrentino film score. Now, Byrne has revealed that the singer and his frequent collaborator Brian Eno have composed much of the soundtrack for the upcoming Oliver Stone film Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps.

The movie's soundtrack has 12 tracks, five of which feature both Eno and Byrne. There are also three Byrne solo tracks, plus three by composer Craig Armstrong. The collection is rounded out by Talking Heads' "This Must Be the Place (Naïve Melody)," which, along with several other Byrne/Eno tracks, appeared in the original film.

UPDATE: The Byrne/Eno tracks are from their 2008 album Everything That Happens Will Happen Today, and the tracklist is now below.

Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps is the sequel to 1987's Wall Street. It stars Michael Douglas and Shia LaBeouf (see them looking very serious above) and is due out on September 24. Head here to see a trailer, although the music doesn't sound much like anything Byrne and Eno would have written. The soundtrack comes out on September 21 via Todo Mundo Records.

In other news, as Stereogum points out, Byrne wrote a press release about his collaboration with St. Vincent (aka Annie Clark). He revealed, "I had some work in progress that I re-arranged, and Annie passed me some horn tracks she'd made in GarageBand. I restructured those a little and wrote some melodies over them."

There's currently no release date set, and he admitted, "We're still inching forwards on this."

Byrne and Clark also adapted a song for Asphalt Orchestra, who will perform the piece on August 7 at New York's Lincoln Centre. By the sound of things, Byrne and Clark won't actually be a part of the show.

You might remember that Clark sung on a track on Byrne's Here Lies Love, entitled "Every Drop of Rain." Click on the embedded video below to take a listen.

Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps: Music from the Motion Picture:

1. Craig Armstrong: "Prison"
2. David Byrne & Brian Eno: "Home"
3. David Byrne & Brian Eno: "Life Is Long"
4. David Byrne: "Sleeping Up"
5. David Byrne & Brian Eno: "Strange Overtones"
6. Craig Armstrong: "Money"
7. David Byrne & Brian Eno: "My Big Nurse"
8. Craig Armstrong: "Helicopter Reveal"
9. David Byrne: "Tiny Apocalypse"
10. David Byrne: "Lazy"
11. David Byrne & Brian Eno: "I Feel My Stuff"
12. Talking Heads: "This Must Be the Place (Naïve Melody)"