Danny Elfman Details First Solo Studio Album in 37 Years

Watch a wild new video for "True" from his 'Big Mess'
Danny Elfman Details First Solo Studio Album in 37 Years
Danny Elfman has shared details of his first solo, non-soundtrack studio album in 37 years. The composer will release Big Mess on June 11 via ANTI-/Epitaph.

The 18-song Big Mess, recorded by Elfman last year during quarantine, features previously shared singles "Happy,"  "Sorry"  "Love in the Time of Covid" and "Kick Me."

Joining the composer on the album are drummer Josh Freese, bassist Stu Brooks, guitarist Nili Brosh and more. Arriving alongside today's news is new single "True," which comes accompanied by a video from director Sarah Sitkin.

"The video is an exploration of fractured identity, muffled through the lens of memory," Sitkin explained in a statement. "Danny is a central figure within the video, yet only in his reproduced likeness via prosthetics, masks, and 3D printed body parts. I wanted to make a video that was gritty, unpolished, and uncomfortable."

Big Mess:

1. Sorry
2. True
3. In Time
4. Everybody Loves You
5. Dance With the Lemurs
6. Serious Ground
7. Choose Your Side
8. We Belong
9. Happy
10. Just a Human
11. Devil Take Away
12. Love in the Time of Covid
13. Native Intelligence
14. Better Times
15. Cruel Compensation
16. Kick Me
17. Get Over It
18. Insects